• United States



by CSO ASEAN Events

CSO30 ASEAN 2021: The top 30 cybersecurity leaders in Southeast Asia and Hong Kong

Nov 25, 20214 mins
IDG Events

The CSO ASEAN Awards honour the top 30 senior cybersecurity executives driving business value, demonstrating leadership, and influencing rapid change in the region.

cso30 asean awards
Credit: IDG

The inaugural CSO30 ASEAN awards recognises the top 30 senior cybersecurity executives driving business value, demonstrating leadership, and influencing rapid change in Southeast Asia and Hong Kong.

The CSO30 ASEAN awards is aligned to IDG’s global awards program and celebrates the leading individuals and organisations delivering security projects and initiatives that demonstrate outstanding business value and leadership.

Nominations were judged based on security initiatives introduced over the past two years that have changed the way the business is protected. Under Leadership, nominees were evaluated based on how they collaborated with and influenced their leadership team to improve cybersecurity and resilience within the firm. Judges also assessed their contribution to the wider cybersecurity community beyond their organisations.

We received over 70 nominations of cybersecurity leaders from markets like Singapore, Hong Kong, Malaysia, the Philippines, Indonesia, India, and Cambodia. These leaders hold country, regional, and global roles within their respective organisation. Some are also responsible for security portfolios across the group.

The winners were announced during the virtual CSO30 ASEAN 2021 Awards ceremony on November 25 2021, where CISOs and technology experts shared their views on a range of topics and themes driving the cybersecurity landscape.

Congratulations to the 2021 CSO30 ASEAN winners!

CSO30 ASEAN Awards 2021 honourees

#1: Steven Sim Kok Leong – Global CISO, PSA International Pte Ltd

#2: Maria Carmela T. Migriño – VP & Group Chief Information Security Officer, Meralco (Manila Electric Company) & subsidiaries

#3: Darren Argyle – Chief Information Security Risk Officer, Standard Chartered

#4: Shankar Krishnan – CISO| Group Head of Information Security, Axiata Digital Services & Boost Malaysia

#5: Angel Redoble – Group CISO, PLDT

#6: Jason Lau – Chief Information Security Officer,

#7: Yuval Illuz – Group Chief Information Security Officer, Standard Chartered

#8: Lim Shih Hsien – former Chief Security Officer, SP Group

#9: Jonathan Scott-Lee – Chief Information Security Officer Asia Pacific, HSBC

#10: Shakthi Priya Kathirvelu – VP and Head of Information Security and IT, Funding Societies | Modalku Group

(Security leaders placed 11-30, listed alphabetically by forename)

  • Alan Ng – Information Security Officer, China Taiping Insurance (Singapore)
  • Dato’ Dr Haji Amirudin bin Abdul Wahab – CEO, Cybersecurity Malaysia
  • Andri Purnomo – VP IT Security, DANA Indonesia
  • Ang Leong Boon – Head of IT Security, National University of Singapore
  • Boris Hajduk – Chief Information Security Officer, Tokopedia
  • Chim Chin Kiat – Chief Information Security Officer, Dyson
  • Christopher Lek – Director, Nanyang Technological University
  • David Walker – Chief Information Security Officer, Mox Bank
  • David Wang – Regional Information Security Manager of ASEAN, NS BlueScope
  • Dodi Yuliarso Soewandi – Chief of IT, Adira Finance
  • Frankie Shuai – Director of Cyber & Technology Risk, UBS
  • Goh Ser Yoong – CIO, Jewel Paymentech
  • Leonard Ong – Senior Director and Regional CISO of Asia Pacific, GE Healthcare
  • Mac Esmilla – Chief Information Security Officer, World Vision International
  • Mark Jhon J. Frogoso – Chief Information Security Officer, Mynt
  • Ou Phannarith – Director of Cybersecurity Department, Ministry of Post and Telecommunications
  • Patrick Liu – Chief Information Security Officer, Fusion Bank
  • Stephen Lau – Director, Network Operation and Maintenance, China Mobile Hong Kong
  • Thee Boon Hoo – Head of Group IT Security, Great Eastern Life Assurance
  • Xerxes Philip Kiok Kan – Head of IT Security & Controls, Anglo-Eastern Ship Management

Business Value  Award             

  • Yuval Illuz – Group Chief Information Security Officer, Standard Chartered

Leadership Award                                

  • Angel Redoble – Group CISO, PLDT

Apart from the nominees, CSO30 would not have been possible without our esteemed panel of judges, who methodically and carefully assessed each and every submission based on our two pillars of Business Value and Leadership.

We’d like to thank:

  • Bob Bragdon – CSO’s Worldwide Managing Director
  • Bonnie Butlin – Executive Director of the Security Partners’ Forum
  • Elina Noor – Director of Political-Security Affairs and Deputy Director of the Washington, D.C. Office at the Asia Society Policy Institute
  • James Henderson – Editorial Director of Asia Pacific and Middle East here at IDG
  • Lim Xiou Ann – CSO ASEAN Editor
  • Dr Manmeet Kaur Mahinderjit Singh – Cybersecurity Researcher & Associate Professor at Universiti Sains Malaysia
  • Ng Hoo Ming – Former Deputy CEO of the Cyber Security Agency of Singapore
  • Simon Piff – Vice President of Asia Pacific at IDC
  • John Yong – Former Group Director of the Infocomm Security Group at IDA

IDG congratulates all CSO30 ASEAN winners and finalists in 2021.