• United States



by CSO Staff

Forensic Certifications

May 01, 20041 min
Investigation and Forensics

Try the CIFI, CFCE or CEECS certifications for digital forensics

There is no silver-bullet certification available for forensic investigators, but apart from the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) there are a few other diverse, vendor-neutral certifications for those who wish to establish and enhance their skill sets.

Certified Information Forensics Investigator (CIFI)

Offered by the International Information Systems Forensics Association, CIFI is designed to demonstrate expertise in all aspects of the information investigative process.

Certified Forensic Computer Examiner (CFCE) and Certified Electronic Evidence Collection Specialist (CEECS)

Offered by the International Association of Computer Investigative Specialists. CFCE and CEECS are forensic certifications offered for law enforcement officers.

GIAC Certified Forensic Analyst (GCFA)

Offered by the SANS Institute’s Global Information Assurance Certification group, GCFA tests the knowledge and skills to handle forensic scenarios, incident investigations, and forensic investigation of networks.

Advanced Information Security & Assurance (AIS)

Offered by the the Security University, AIS is an eight-module certification focusing on distinct skill sets within computer security. Although the certification is not just for forensics there is a strong forensic component.