• United States



sarah d_scalet
Senior Editor

Critical Infrastructures: Power is Just One of 11

May 01, 20041 min
Critical InfrastructureData CenterTechnology Industry

A list of the 11 critical infrastructure industries defined by DHS

Energy is just one of 11 sectors that the federal government has designated part of the nation’s critical infrastructure—that is, industries that are essential to the U.S. economy, national defense and quality of life, but that are, more often than not, controlled by private companies. The 11 critical infrastructure categories are:

– Agriculture and food

– Banking and finance

– Chemicals and hazardous materials

– Defense industrial base

– Emergency services

– Energy

– Information and telecommunications

– Postal and shipping

– Public health

– Transportation

– Water