• United States



by Jan Duffy

Global Information Assurance Certification

Mar 25, 20031 min
CSO and CISOData and Information Security

The GIAC, Global Information Assurance Certification, was founded in 1999 by the SANS (Systems Administration and Network Security) Institute ( This certification requires completion of a written practical assignment as well as one or more technical online exams. Certifications are renewed every two years by taking a refresher exam. Candidates can choose to participate in specific certifications such as: Certified Firewall Analyst, Certified Intrusion Analyst, Certified Incident Handler, Certified UNIX Security Administrator and Certified Forensic Analyst.